Secondary Research

Ideally when I complete my degree later on in the year, I’d like to go into a low level creative role in an animation company. Over the course of this module I will first of all get to grips with what sort of work is available, then look into the kind of roles in an animation company, furthermore I will research the skills and qualifications required. By doing a simple search on job agencies and search engines a few pop up that are linked more to corporate, advertising companies. Although this would be beneficial, I would much prefer something narrative based, so short films/kids shows/educational videos as that is where the work is. Here are some videos I watched to get an idea of what I can expect and what is expected of me (I tried to just keep notes as I watched each video to help me when I come back to these. In order to get some advice and tips on getting a job in the animation industry I have done a lot of search on the internet. I watched an interview with Oli Hyatt, director at Blue Zoo, who said that if someone targets them personally in a creative way they have to at least speak to them. This is the kind of approach that I plan on taking when I apply for jobs in animation companies.

I took some notes which I will make use of in the future. These were to take all of the bad stuff out of your showreel! A 10 second quality clip is better than 2 minutes of a variety of qualities. You can come from technology side or creative side providing you are ready to learn. Acting is important for facial movement and mimicking and I will find this useful as I have a lot of experience in acting. Persistence and creative approaches are important. Be personal, make targeted effort! There was a girl who made a puzzle based on there company which she sent to them. By making such a personal, targeted effort they spoke to her and eventually employed her. This is an approach that I will take on in the future.

 

Leave a comment