Project Management

Early on in the project, Loz and I decided to split the roles of Producer and Director in order to split the pressure. As co-producer I shared the responsibility in collecting receipts and recording our expenditure, keeping a diary our our schedule, contacting our costume designer and other contacts. The list of our minor and major jobs is endless as there were only two of us. In retrospect I think that we dealt with the workload incredibly well, we stayed on schedule and got everything done that we had intended.

        Screen Shot 2014-05-09 at 14.49.33

As co-director one of my jobs was setting up a shooting schedule based on our shot list. I first of all colour co-ordinated the shot list based on which shots were on which day in the film in order to assure costume changes are done correctly. I then cut it up and organised them based on shots which are similar. This meant that if there was a shot that is mirrored later on in the film we could shoot them at the same time in order to keep consistency.

          

One of the other precautions that I took on in order to avoid continuity errors was to create a document of where the newspaper and mugs were in every shot as they were the props which moved about a lot. I did a plan for each of them, noting when each movement occurred. This meant that when I was setting up a shot I could look back at the document, go to the shot number and check that the props were in the correct place.

 

Leave a comment